Plenary Speakers

The organizers of Metabolomics 2024 are pleased to announce the following confirmed plenary speakers.

Pieter Dorrestein
University of California – San Diego, USA

Dr. Dorrestein is Professor at the Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, and departments of Pharmacology and Pediatrics, University of California - San Diego. He is the Director of the Collaborative Mass Spectrometry Innovation Center and a Co-Director, Institute for Metabolomics Medicine in the Skaggs School of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Department of Pharmacology

Since his arrival to UC-San Diego in 2006, Dr. Dorrestein has been pioneering the development of mass spectrometry methods to study the chemical ecological crosstalk between population of microorganisms, including host interactions for agricultural, diagnostic and therapeutic applications. He is the advisor to Cybele, Sirenas and is a co-founder and scientific advisor for Ometa, Arome and Enveda.

Jules Griffin
University of Aberdeen, UK

Jules Griffin received his doctorate (a DPhil) from the Department of Biochemistry, University of Oxford, where he studied metabolism using stable isotope approaches in the Radda group. He then took up a Harvard Medical School/Massachusetts General Hospital Fellowship in Radiology using magnetic resonance spectroscopy to follow cardiac metabolism with Doug Lewandowski. In 1999 he returned to the UK to take up a research associate position at Imperial College London, supervised by Prof. Jeremy Nicholson to develop NMR based approaches for the new field of Metabonomics. He was awarded a Royal Society University Fellowship which in 2003 he transferred to the University of Cambridge to start his own research group, followed by a return to Imperial College in 2019 as head of section and Professor of Biological Chemistry. 

In 2021, he became the Director of the Rowett Institute, University of Aberdeen. His programme of research focuses on the development of metabolomics and lipidomics tools to investigate aspects of the MetabolicSyndrome. His group has an interest in identifying biomarkers that stratify patients according to risk factor of the Metabolic Syndrome and understand the associated underlying mechanisms. 

He was also President of the Metabolomics Society and director of the Metabolic Profiling Forum. He likes mountains but isn’t very good at getting up or down them.

Claudia Langenberg
Precision Healthcare University Research Institute, Queen Mary University of London, UK

Claudia Langenberg is Director of the Precision Healthcare University Research Institute at Queen Mary University of London, UK and Professor of Computational Medicine at the Berlin Institute of Health at Charité, Germany. A Public Health Physician by training, her research is focused on the genetic basis of metabolic control, and her team studies its effects on health through integration of molecular with clinical data in large-scale patient and population-based studies.

Kazuki Saito
RIKEN Center for Sustainable Resource Science, Japan

Prof. Kazuki Saito currently serves as the Director of the RIKEN Center for Sustainable Resource Science (CSRS) and the Group Director of the Metabolomics Research Group. Over the past 25 years, he has been actively involved in plant metabolomics and phytochemical genomics at Chiba University, where he holds the title of Professor Emeritus, as well as at RIKEN CSRS. His current role involves leading CSRS's research efforts to contribute to building a sustainable society

Prof. Saito has received numerous accolades, including the Medal with Purple Ribbon from the Japanese Government, the Knight in the Order of Léopold from the Kingdom of Belgium, a Lifetime Honorary Fellowship from The Metabolomics Society, and the Shimadzu Prize from the Shimadzu Science Foundation. Furthermore, he has been recognized as one of the 'Highly Cited Researchers' in the field of Plant and Animal Science for the period 2014-2023.

Yu Xia
Tsinghua University, China

Dr. Yu Xia earned her B.S. (1999) in Chemistry from Lanzhou University, China, M.S. (2002) from Shanghai Institute of Material Medical, CASs, China, and Ph.D. (2006) under the supervision of Professor Scott A. McLuckey from Purdue University, USA.  After postdoctoral training with Professor Graham R. Cooks at Purdue, Dr. Xia took positions as Assistant and Associate Professor at the Department of Chemistry, Purdue University (2009-2017). She joined Tsinghua University as a Professor of the Department of Chemistry in 2016.  

Dr. Xia utilizes radical chemistry as a unique approach to achieve enhanced bioanalysis via mass spectrometry.  Her recent research emphasizes developing structural lipidomics tools capable of resolving structural isomers. Her work has resulted in over 120 peer-reviewed publications and book chapters. Dr. Xia received ASMS Research Award (2013) and served as the Secretary of ASMS (2015-2017). She currently serves as the Editor for the Journal of Mass Spectrometry and the Vice President for Diversity and Inclusion of the International Lipidomics Society.